RSS

And as I promised…

27 Jan

…the bread I am baking.

Matt asked me why I am cooking so much. (Goodness, doesn’t the boy know not to question about his good luck?) We both decided that I am cooking to deal with my stress regarding (1) what Oral Surgery program Matt would get into and (2) what Nurse Practitioner program I will get into. Now that it is just me left, I am keeping my fingers crossed as I knead the bread dough. (Sort of awkward, made me want to crack my knuckles. Didn’t last long.) Cliché perhaps, but I found the kneading very therapeutic. And the sweet yeasty smell of this yummy bread recipe is now making my mouth water incessantly. So, without further ado…

Maple Oatmeal Bread

From the kitchen of “One Perfect Bite” Courtesy of: Bernard Clayton

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups boiling water
1 cup rolled oats
2-1/2 teaspoons dry yeast
3/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon oil
5 to 6 cups all-purpose/whole wheat flour + flour for kneading

Directions:
1) Place oats in a large bowl. Pour in boiling water. Stir and set aside for 1 hour.
2) Add yeast, syrup, salt and oil to the oats. Add 3 cups of flour and mix well. (I used a 3:1 ratio of whole wheat to all-purpose.) Cover with plastic wrap and let sit in a warm place until small bubbles form on surface of dough, about 1 hour.
3) Add more flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until dough comes together. Turn it onto a floured surface and knead, using flour as required, for ten minutes. Dough will still be sticky, but it will form a cohesive mass. Shape dough into 2 loaves and place in 2 greased pans. Cover and let rise another 45 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
4) Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until bread is brown and sounds hollow when thumped with a finger. Transfer pans to a cooling rack. Brush tops lightly with butter. Remove from pans and cool to room temperature before slicing.

Yield: 2 loaves.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in Breads & Muffins

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “And as I promised…

  1. Matthew

    January 28, 2010 at 4:10 am

    With every succeeding post I can see how you have already been transforming as a “blogger.” The combintation of your candidness and photography is what every blog should have. I always told you to start a blog! I think its perfect, and yes I may be a little biased.

     
  2. Sarah

    February 8, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Dear Matt, I agree completely. Couldn’t have said it better myself. Love, Sarah

     

Leave a Reply

 
