RSS

Featuring the Vegetables Themselves

11 Mar

A glorious encounter with vegetables.

Oddly enough, my house has still not replenished itself with food. Strange. Solution: I went to my mom’s. This is a good solution because food in my parents’ kitchen is plentiful, organic and delicious, (ahem) and free. It never runs out. A river of good and plenty. It’s really quite magical.

The other day at work, I noticed an issue of Bon Appetit sitting in the break room among all the other trashy magazine. I immediately snagged it. I only had ten minutes of break remaining, but I managed to find two intriguing recipes that made my mouth water, so I tore them out. I figured it was a break room magazine, belonging to the collective “us,” so I didn’t feel bad about stealing the recipes. Unfortunately, on my next break, the magazine was gone, and I felt immediately guilty about ripping out a couple of pages. To the mysterious owner of the Bon Appetit magazine, wherever you are, I am sorry! I owe you roasted cumin carrots and marinated green bean salad whenever you would like to come over for dinner.

Recipes:

Carmelized Cumin Roasted Carrots

6 servings (I cut the recipe in half)

Calories 94 Fat 5 g Fiber 4 g

– Nonstick vegetable oil spray

– 12 medium to large carrots, peeled and cut on diagonal into 1/4 inch thick pieces (I used a mandolin)

– 2 Tbs extra virgin olive oil

– 1 1/2 tsp cumin seeds (I used ground cumin seed)

– 2 tsp coarse kosher salt.

Preheat oven to 400. Spray rimmed baking tray with nonstick spray. Combine carrots and all ingredients in a large bowl and toss to coat. Spread in a thin layer on prepared baking sheet. Roast until tender and lightly carmelized, turning carrots once. Depending on the thickness of your carrot slices, they will cook completely in 20-40 minutes. Mine were done in 20.


Marinated Green Bean & Onion Salad

Make a quick white wine vinegarette; mix in a pressed garlic clove. Marinate paper-thin slices of red onion (again, the mandolin works magic on this) in the dressing while you steam some green beans until they are crisp-tender. Toss beans with red onions and dressing.

*I nuked the red onion and dressing mixture in the microwave for just over 30 seconds. I personally don’t love the bite of red onions, and this extra step really helped to calm the flavor.

A white wine vinegarette recipe:

  • 2 tablespoons white wine
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard (I ❤ dijon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Talk about amazing leftovers. We mixed the sweet carrots with the tangy green beans in with a mix of greens and other goodies. It will make an amazing lunch for tomorrow. Or a late night snack…


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2010 in Vegetables and Sides

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
