RSS

Vegetablemania

27 Apr

(semi)local produce delivered to my door!

I love home delivery! It’s not quite a CSA (we’ll get one of those when we move to the East Coast in less than a month) but it is produce, delivered to my door, and as local-as-you-like-it! This is only our second delivery, but I am already completely enamored with the spudliness of our produce. And as with the first time, as soon as it came, I went into a veritable vegetable frenzy. What to do with all these veggies? What’s that I sense? Is it the kale turning bitter already? Maybe I should use it today! How can I possibly combine all these carrots-apples-limes-shallots into one healthful and delicious dish? How about a hodgepodge soup? I did them both. But first for the most miraculous discovery…

KALE CHIPS

Yes, kale chips. Healthy and no way – delicious too. I can hardly believe it. In the past, I have felt a wee bit intimidated by kale. The bitterness, the toughness of the stems, how it quickly wilts from its oh-so-becoming curliness into, well, wilted kale…Until Today, I was: not so impressed.

I remembered reading about kale chips on a blog somewhere, but amongst all my blogs, it was a lost cause to search for the exact kale chip recipe. So I googled. And lo and behold, there is not just one recipe for kale chips, there are many! And should I really even dare to call it a recipe? That may sound a little imposing. This is so gosh darn simple, I nailed it the first time reading it. But here it is, printed for posterity in my blog:

Crispy Kale Chips

Poor discarded cores...

  • 1 bunch of kale (a lot, it shrinks)
  • Olive oil
  • Ground sea salt

Preheat oven to 300. Trim the kale leaves by first cutting out the tough center core and then chopping each side into a few more bite-sized pieces. Toss the leaves in a big bowl and drizzle olive oil over them. Add a little, mix. Add a little more, mix until satisfied. You don’t want to  overdo the oil. Sprinkle salt over the oiled leaves and toss lightly. Spread the kale-chips-to-be in a single layer on a baking sheet. No need to oil, your kale babes already have that going for them. Toss in the oven for roughly 20 minutes, check for crispiness! But please don’t let them burn…

my tossing strategy

a REAL healthy snack

A little bird told me that if you make these, then crunch them up into little kale crisp crumbs, they are GREAT sprinkled over popcorn. Go light on the oil so that they don’t stick together if you attempt this. It’s definitely on my list of things to do now!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 27, 2010 in Snacks, Vegetables and Sides

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Vegetablemania

  1. geena

    April 27, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    who’d have thought?? I will definitely try this…thanks rachel

     

Leave a Reply

 
