RSS

A Recipe Written by Mua

29 Apr

I know it’s really spelled “moi” but I prefer “mua.” It just looks more right, don’t you think? And it sounds like a cross between “me” and a kissy sound. Love it.

This is my first recipe! I am still tweaking it, but I think the first version came out pretty well. I guess I didn’t totally write it because I looked at a lot of different recipes for inspiration, but the end product is pretty much me, or a Thai version of me. We ate this soup with a sesame encrusted red snapper topped with a lime-rhubarb sauce. That was really the main event…and Matt totally aced it. But today, my soup was the main event for my lunch, so they both got a starring role in the end. Here it is. And, enjoy!

added arugula just because i grew it 🙂

Thai Curry Carrot Soup

  • 4 organic carrots, peeled if necessary, and chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped (ok to use the leaves)
  • 2 medium-sized apples, cored and chopped (I used the peel)
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Some kind of curry paste (I used yellow + a dash of cumin and coriander)
  • Chicken stock  (low-sodium worked well for me)
  • 1 can coconut milk (I used reduced fat and it was still delish)
  • 2 limes (for soup and garnish)

Note: It really helps to have a mandolin with this recipe! It cut my preparation time in half as I sliced and diced my way through the vegetables (and luckily not a single finger) in no time at all.

Sauté the chopped onions in a little olive oil on medium heat while chopping the rest. Add all the veggies, including the garlic and a teaspoon of your curry paste, plus any spices you choose to supplement with. (I also liked adding some Sriracha for the spicy factor but that’s completely optional.) Stir all the veggies+apple over medium low heat for a few minutes. Add enough chicken stock to cover the vegetables, just barely. Cover your soup with a lid and let simmer for approximately 45 minutes, or until all the vegetables have softened substantially.

Blend soup in a food processor. Taste test product and add salt if you wish, and coconut milk to taste, keeping soup warm over low heat.

Serving: Squeeze lime over each bowl of soup and serve with an additional wedge. Without lime, the soup is pretty sweet, and the lime cuts this sweetness. Dip your spoon and enjoy!

Matt says that the red snapper makes this a $50 meal in a restaurant. My soup adds about $2 to the total

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2010 in Soups, Vegetables and Sides

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “A Recipe Written by Mua

  1. Matthew

    April 29, 2010 at 10:21 am

    It added at least $15, because of the fancy yet simple garnish. Like the new font!

     

Leave a Reply

 
