RSS

Klickity Klack Kittity Kat

04 May

We had our going away party this weekend. It was such a great event. All of our friends and family (excluding my favorite sister) helped us celebrate the next big step in our lives, and were kind enough to partake of the fancy appetizers we provided at the wine bar, and of the desserts we baked and brought. While our friends were there to celebrate us, the real celebrity of the evening were the so-called Kit Kat Bars* that my mom baked. They seriously stole the show. Amid well wishes and hugs, there were requests for the recipe to be emailed asap. I’ll do one better than that by posting it for the world to woo. I seriously vouch for these little guys…they weaseled their way through my low-sugar diet and stole my heart.

*Who named these kit kat bars? The only kit kat bar aspect of them is the appearance. But they have a serious identity crisis and I hereby identify them as Layered Peanut Butter Twix.

Here they be:

Identity Crisis Candy Bars

Originally encountered by: My lovely sister Sarah

Ingredients:

  • 60 buttery crackers, such as Keebler Club Crackers
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup firmly-packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1-1/2 cups crushed graham crackers
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

Preparation:

  • Generously butter a 9 x 13 baking dish. Line with a layer of crackers.
  • In a small saucepan, bring butter, sugars and milk together to a boil over medium heat. Stir in crushed graham crackers. Let boil 5 minutes.
  • Pour half of the sugar mixture over the crackers. Cover with another layer of crackers, pressing down lightly. Pour remaining syrup mixture over crackers, smoothing to coat.
  • Top with a third layer of crackers, pressing lightly.
  • Melt chocolate chips and peanut butter in a small saucepan, or over a double boiler.
  • Pour evenly over the top layer of crackers, making sure the crackers are completely covered.
  • Refrigerate until kit kat bars are firm. Cut in kit kat bar shape and style.

Makes 36 kit kat bars.

Simply Glorious

And of course, my sister’s cake truffles made an appearance at our party. In allllll sorts of different colors.

Luvin the Sprinkes

Simply white tastes just as sweet

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2010 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Klickity Klack Kittity Kat

  1. Bri Marie P

    May 7, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I LOVE YOUR NEW LAYOUT! Great blog appearance, Rach!

    Also, I’m so bummed I wasn’t at your party. From the looks of things, I definitely missed out.

    So blessed to have you in my life and while I’m so excited for your move, I’m definitely going to miss you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
