RSS

Beer in my belly: A recipe for the road

18 May
Beer in my belly: A recipe for the road

This puppy is coming with me.

I have been trying to perfect this recipe from scratch ever since my mom brought home an AMAZING mix for beer bread. It was truly phenomenal. Locally milled flour made it taste even better, but somehow there was something not quite as satisfying when saying, “I made it from a mix.” I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the 50’s housewife in me raring her perfectly coiffed head to shout (demurely), “Baking from scratch is the only way to bake!” So, a few beer bread mixes later, a number of failed attempts and one or two blind taste tests, I have honed the recipe to one that I believe is in the same league as the original (squirm) “mix” bread.

And it is excruciatingly simple.

You’ll never make another bread without thinking of the simplicity of this one. And when you eat an entire loaf in less time than in takes to drink a Fat Tire, you don’t need to feel bad because you can have another loaf piping hot from the oven in less than an hour. Now, down to the deets:

Classy Drunk Bread

  • 3 C self-rising flour*
  • ½ cups sugar (don’t scrimp)
  • 1 12 oz beer (this is classy beer bread, use the microbrew, it packs a sweeter punch in flavor)
  • Few Tbsp melted butter (the mix called for ½ a cup, but I find a few tbsp to be just as good)

*You can make your own self-rising flour. However, when I did it, I found the taste to be lacking. A little too salty and maybe a little more dense? I still haven’t perfected the measurements, but this is the common technique: for each cup of all-purpose flour, add 1 ½ tsp baking powder and ½ tsp salt. (I would consider adding less salt next time.) Mix to combine.

Preheat oven to 375. Sift or spoon flour into measuring cup and carefully level off. Don’t put in too much flour or the result will be dense. Add sugar, and then beer, room temperature if possible. Mix, but do not overmix! Just mix until everything is barely combined in a sticky glob. Dump into a well-greased loaf pan (or skillet…I love the skillet bread). If you are dying to spend more time on this bread, consider letting it rest for 30 minutes. It will rise and become a little lighter. Not necessary, but delicious. Then, pour a few tablespoons of butter (or ½ cup if you feel like being decadent) over the bread. Yes, pour it over the unbaked loaf. Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour.

Don’t burn your tongue, but enjoy it warm! Is it possible that this bread tastes even better the morning after? Hair of the dog….if it lasts that long…

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Beer in my belly: A recipe for the road

  1. geena

    May 19, 2010 at 6:05 am

    seems to good to be true! couldn’t be easier so I will definitely try it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
