RSS

Digesting

08 Aug

A perfect snack

I wrote this post about a week ago – and never posted it. Oh my goodness, it feels so good to read over this post now, a week later, remembering how stressed out and tired I was then and how GREAT I feel now! I am finally done with nursing school’s dirty little trick – summer boot camp. I didn’t get an ulcer, I am not sick with the flu (yet), and I did pretty darn ok! I am going to write another entry shortly, reflecting on my experience over the summer, since I didn’t get to digest it before…but for now I have this for you…

(Written a week ago…) The inspiration for this recipe hails from my mom. Clearly, I cannot make her recipes taste better, nothing tastes better than the mom-infused touch, but I can at least try and make it healthier. Ah, the dreaded words. However, in nursing school bootcamp, with little-to-no-time to exercise (a lame excuse, I know) I am trying to be more conscious of what I eat. For the time being. Because I am in the 6 day countdown till FREEDOM, and once that bell tolls, it’s all about running, and playing and eating freely!

Healthful Yogurt Banana Bread

  • 2 C. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2-3/4 C. sugar (depending on how ripe your bananas are: more ripe=less sugar)
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 C. toasted walnuts/pecans; chopped coarsely–about 1 cup (optional)
  • 3 very ripe, darkly speckled large bananas
  • 1/4 c. yogurt (I use plain greek yogurt)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 Tbsp. butter, melted and cooled (I used less, probably about 3 Tbsp)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract, cinnamon if you like!

1) Use a regular loaf pan, grease and flour bottom and sides. Preheat oven to 350.

2) Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, nuts.

3) Mash the bananas well, and mix them with the yogurt, eggs, butter, and vanilla. Fold this mixture into the dry ingredients until just combined. Pour the batter into the loaf pan. Bake 55 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes, transfer to wire rack.

Of course, there are many fun variations you can try too. Banana bread is never boring! Try using a flavored yogurt, such as vanilla. My mom regularly made her famous banana bread studded with chocolate chips. You can try different nuts, adding coconut, substituting some apple sauce, adding in some zucchini to fraternize with the banana, etc, etc — the possibilities are endless. Let me know if you come up with any fantastic variations. I can’t wait to try it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 8, 2010 in Breads & Muffins, Snacks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
