RSS

Homemade Applesauce Oatmeal: A cozy fall treat

01 Nov

Drowning in apples, swimming in sauce. Not for long, though. While I ambitiously put a few jars of my applesauce in the freezer 2 weeks ago, imagining I would find them in the middle of the winter when I was severely apple-anemic, I have already tapped into my stores. In a post-Halloween and birthday weekend funk, this is the perfect antidote and best way to start an unwelcome Monday. This warm combo tastes like breakfast apple crumble. It makes me happy, cozy and warm to my toes. It also helps me face the day, which is 32 degrees too cold, in my opinion. This recipe is simple and sweet, and tastes even better when you pick the apples yourself, or at least from a bin at a local farmers market. 🙂

Simply Applesauce

  • 3 to 4 lbs of peeled, cored, and chopped apples
  • Juice of one lemon, plus some zest
  • 2-3 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • ¼ dark brown sugar, or to taste
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ tsp salt
  • A dollop of brandy or rum if you feel like a little mischief

1 Put all ingredients into a large pot and cover. Bring the mixture to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer covered for 20-30 minutes. Test for softness with a fork, it should pierce the apples with no resistance.

2 Remove cooked mixture from heat. Mash with potato masher, and you may also blend half of it, depending on the consistency you desire.

Ready to serve, either hot or refrigerated. Delicious with an array of partners: such as oatmeal, steel cut oats, vanilla yogurt, or even ice cream.

Freezes well, use within a year!


 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 1, 2010 in Breakfast, Snacks

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Homemade Applesauce Oatmeal: A cozy fall treat

  1. geena epstein

    November 1, 2010 at 11:13 am

    looks yummm as usual! My mom used to make applesauce every fall and also rhubarb sauce..making me nostalgic. Love Geena

     

Leave a Reply

 
