RSS

Progress Report

17 Nov

Brief news:

Small bowel transplant went without a hitch according to the surgeons. They called it a “perfect fit.” For some reason I had a terrible feeling in the pit of my stomach all throughout it… But, for once, I know I was wrong to trust my gut. This young woman is one of the strongest people I know. Today, barely 24 hours later, from the ICU I actually spoke to her on the phone. She is awake, and sounds amazing. Her physical therapist helped her get OUT OF BED. I haven’t ever heard of anyone sitting up in an ICU, much less moving to a chair! Her strength is phenomenal; I have goosebumps as I write this. I will be next to her Friday evening, and I am so grateful that I can be there.

Other news: I helped a woman breastfeed for the first time today. It was the most amazing, beautiful and healing experience ever. OB is like respite care for nursing students. I wish I could take it like ibuprofen for headaches.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2010 in Babies, Healing Spoonful

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
