RSS

Dr. Seuss in room 4 needs emergent care, STAT

24 Apr

biggest smile of the day

No…I didn’t take a picture of a patient. But, I did take a picture of what, or whom rather, a patient left behind. Upon our 7am arrival, there was a patient sleeping off her intoxication. Not a rare occurrence in the ED, despite what one may assume is the purpose of the ER (emergencies). My preceptor sent me in to this room to see if I could elicit any information from the patient. Since most of my encounters with drunk people in the ED have been less than pleasant (think: belligerence, lechery, obstinate and loud) I was expecting more of the same, and braced myself. But when I walked in, I saw a middle-aged lady, with hands folded primly above the covers. 1st clue that things would go differently. I asked her about how she arrived here, and if she knew where she was. I was right in assuming that she was oriented times 3. And then she took me for a trip down storybook lane, telling me all about how she had no idea why EMS picked her up, she only drank 3 beers, she was in her own home, alone, not disrupting anyone. To top it all off, someone had stolen her pants and shoes. She was bottomless. Scratching my head in some confusion, I left the room, promising to seek out some clothing for her. I reported back to my preceptor about what I thought was our mistake. My preceptor laughed at me and then very gently pointed out the 28 prior encounters in our EMR that this very same lady had been in for intoxication. I had been hoodwinked. Sober patients are night&day different from their drunk counterparts. After finding this patient a set of bottoms and sending her on her merry way, I noticed the stuffed animal left behind. I guess she didn’t need it anymore. Another nurse set the Dr. Seuss character up in bed, as you see above and closed the curtain. When the 11am shift came on, this same nurse told one of her coworkers, “There’s an emergent case in room 4. Can you go assess, stat?” The nurse agreed and quickly went over to room 4…to find our little friend, all tucked in, with a flat-line for O2 saturation…

Ah, the joys of the ER.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
